History & Heritage
Roquebrune Parish Church
This church of Gothic style was consecrated in 1535. It is dedicated to the apostles, Saint Peter and Saint Paul. It has just been fully restored, along with the many altarpieces and statues inside.
The Lords of Roquebrune-sur-Argens settled on this rocky mound, followed by peasants, giving rise to the castle and the Village protected by rampart walls.
The Castrum’s main gate which led into the fortified Village enclosure.
Tour de l’Horloge
Built in the 16th century on the medieval ramparts, the clock tower is topped with a finely crafted belfry.
The Old Fountain
The fountain was built in the 18th century after Sir De Badier generously donated the Cavalières springs.
Chapelle de Saint-Michel
The chapel belonged to the Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem, then to the Confrérie des Pénitents Blancs.
Chapelle de Saint-Roch
This Romanesque chapel is dedicated to Saint Roch who saved Roquebrune from the plague.
The tower was part of the outer wall of the fortified Village.
These houses with arcaded porticos were built in the 16th century when they were used for the covered market
Maison du Chocolat & Cacao
The chocolate & cocoa museum occupies the Chapelle des Soeurs de la Charité de Nevers and houses over 1,000 collector items under the chocolate theme. Children will enjoy the Choco-Mômes section. Discover…
This chapel is the village’s most ancient monument and is now a venue for exhibitions and concerts.
The “25 bridges”
This 18th-century aqueduct was built to carry water from the Cavalières springs to the Fontaine Vieille (old fountain) in the Village.